NEW BLOGGER | 4 Ways to Finding The Blog-Life Balance

Life is a balance between what we can control and what we cannot. I am learning to live between effort and surrender. ~ Danielle Orner

lydonlife-blog-try-succeed

___________________________________________________________

Welcome to Lyd on Life

Blogging is easy…

Said none of the 133,000,000 (and counting) bloggers out there. Ever!

Balancing blogging with your day job and your life can be quite difficult. Especially for a new blogger. You’re already diving your 24 hours between sleeping, working, family, friends, boyfriend, a bit of exercise, a hobby or two, church, personal growth…Did I forget anything?  Now you want to add blogging to it.

I thought I could till I actually started blogging.

I have huge hopes for my blog. For it to grow, provide insight for other people and be a therapeutic outlet for me. Somewhere I can share my thoughts, plans, struggles and success in life. But how do you find time to do all that whilst still living in the real world? I ask myself that every time I say I’m going to write a post but never getting around to doing so. It’s not as easy as I thought.

Having big dream for your blog means you need the time, resources and motivation for it. I decided to do some research in the blogosphere to find out ways I could get my blog-life balance together.

Here’s a few I found:

Learn from other people – As a new blogger, we’re simply winging it. At least I am. I know nothing about blogging strategies, creating great articles or choosing catchy headlines. All I know is I have something worth sharing. Finding people who can help share our thoughts and ideas can motivate and provide direction for when things start to feel lost or frustrating. www.meetup.com is a great place to start. Here, you can connect with people of similar interest, network at events and build relationships that can guide you to finding your balance.

Make it simple – We all want quality graphics and it’s tempting to want to get all the gadgets needed for the perfect picture. From cameras and lighting to photo-editing software and perfect backgrounds. This all takes time and money. If you have it, great! If not, here are a few less expensive or time consuming tools you can use. www.stocksnap.io/ and www.pexels.com are the two website I use for stunning free stock images. If they need some editing, I use www.freeonlinephotoeditor.com/ or apps such as Instagram or VSCO. A few minutes of fiddling around and I have amazing high quality pictures. They will do for now.

Stay motivated – Ever since I started blogging, I’m constantly looking for confirmation that I’m doing it right. When I don’t find it (from comments, likes, views etc.), I feel a little disheartened. Is there any point in going on? Then I remember why I started. I started to share my experience and the many things that I’m learning in my day-to-day life. Whatever your reason for blogging is, remember that if your blog posts are helping even one person, its creation has been worth your time. That desire to blog isn’t there for nothing. Keep going.

Schedule your blog-life – The saying goes, there’s a time for everything. That can be a little misleading as a new blogger. You feel the need to blog every day and promote yourself on every social media possible to draw in traffic. I’ve tried and failed. It can’t be done. At least not while I’m still finding my feet. However, the saying is true, there is a time for everything. I use my journey to and from work to write down my thoughts on the day or a particular topic. Then I give myself 2 hours every day to either write, edit, post or promote a blog post. Blogging shouldn’t feel like a chore. It should be something enjoyable like an escape from the chores of life. Start small then work your way up.

Image result for finding balance quotes

And that’s it. That’s all I have so far. And I think it’s good enough for now.

So what’s my plan? I plan to post once a week, putting these 4 tips into practice till I find my blog-life balance. Will these tips work? Who knows, I’m new to this remember. Only one way to find out. Wish me luck!

I hope this post gave you some ideas and encouraged you to keep blogging!

Your Turn…

Did you find any of these tips helpful? What distracts you from blogging the most? How do you manage your blog and everyday life?

Get in touch, tweet me @lydonlifeblog or share your experiences and tips with everybody in the comments.

Till next time.

Love,
Lydia x | https://lydonlife.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “NEW BLOGGER | 4 Ways to Finding The Blog-Life Balance

  1. soulanceblog says:

    I was just thinking about this. I also work a “9-5,” have a husband and I blog among other things…. I just started in October posting 3times a week and that has dropped to 2x already. It’s not easy but it’s so rewarding!!❤️️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lana The Mother says:

    I find it a little hard for me to keep with the blogging schedule! My kids are distraction!! I barely find time to blog about my diaries with my kids.. but when I find just a little time, it will be surely for blogging.. nice post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

