Bare Faced Beauty | The Day I Decided to Stop Wearing Makeup

“Enjoy your body. It’s the greatest instrument you’ll ever own ” ~ Kurt Vonnegut

lydonlife-blog-imperfectly-make-up

___________________________________________________________

Welcome to Lyd on Life

It’s Saturday afternoon and I’m sat in bed with a thick layer of Sudo cream all over my forehead. Panic!

For the past week or so I started to develop some itching and dryness on my forehead. I didn’t think anything of it but once the skin on my forehead started to wrinkle and peel a little I got worried. I have no idea why but it just happened. I was so busy with work that I had no time to book an appointment with the GP and a part of me thought it would go away after a while. But I didn’t. It just got worse and covering it with make-up didn’t help.

My forehead is the oiliest part of my face. The make-up would slide right off throughout the day or get caught in the wrinkles and dry patches. It was horrible.

As much as I wanted to hide away in my room till my skin got better, I had work to do and life wasn’t going to wait on my forehead. So, I had to decide. Either keep walking around with patchy wrinkly make-up on my forehead or stop wearing make-up till my forehead got better. To some, this isn’t a big deal but for someone who’s been wearing make-up since they were 13, it’s a big deal. I couldn’t even go to the corner shop without eye-brows, concealer and foundation at least.

Like many people out there, when puberty hit, the beauty store or their sisters make-up was their place of refuge. Where you could make that dark mark from the spot you popped last night disappear or not look so bad. Unfortunately, they don’t tell you that it only gets worse the more make-up you use. Or maybe they did, I just didn’t get the memo. 13 years later I’m still trying to cover up old and new acne marks, uneven and dull skin. Isn’t puberty meant to be over already?

lydonlife-beuty-inhale-confidence

Dealing with problematic skins means you are constantly battling with your self-confidence. You wonder whether other people notice your imperfections the way you do. Sometimes they don’t but that doesn’t matter to you. Why? Because you notice them. It’s hard not to when you are so used to seeing your skin flawless when you have make-up. Once you wipe it off, all you notice are the things you tried to hide.

Unfortunately for me, I can’t hide this wrinkly dry forehead of mine. And the more primer, foundation and setting powder I put, the worse it looked. So I decided to stop before it’s too late. My skin was telling me it needed a break and my self-confidence was telling me it needed a boost. So I decided to listen to it.

I’ve spent years trying to love my skin until I was forced to. Till I caught myself preferring the marked up, uneven, dull skin I had to the one I could have if the itching and wrinkling persisted. I felt like I was developing eczema and would hate to think I spent all those years resenting my skin as if it was the worst it could get.

You never know what you have until it’s at risk of being taken away. So I decided to embrace what I have and learn to love it. Even if I wish it could be better. My skin may not be perfect but its mine and I should enjoy it. I shouldn’t be afraid to show it to the world.

lydonlife-blog-beauty-make-up

One of my 2017 goals is to love the skin I’m in. Perhaps the universe was helping me take the first step to achieving that goal. By forcing me to bare my skin in a way I’ve never done before. To wear it with pride and appreciate it as it is. Scars and all.

I’m hoping not only will this help me figure out what is going on with my forehead but also help me feel more confident and comfortable going out without make-up.

I am beautiful with or without make-up. I need to believe it, not just say it. It’s going to take some time to reach that point of self belief and acceptance but at least I’m making small steps toward my goal. Actions speak louder than words.

Your turn…

How often do you go without make-up? Do you feel comfortable without it? How do you deal with some of your insecurities? What did it take for you to get to that place of accepting your insecurities?

Get in touch, tweet me @lydonlifeblog or share your experiences and tips with everybody in the comments.

Till next time.

Love,
Lydia x | https://lydonlife.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Bare Faced Beauty | The Day I Decided to Stop Wearing Makeup

  1. bornfreewitht says:

    Oh my… This is by far the best blog post for the day. Loved your honesty and the well put quotes attached. Please save this on your blog for years to come. Absolutely relatable for me. Tips I watch youtubers who devote their lives to skin care and all beauty related stuffies. Shirley B. Eniang – YouTube
    https://www.youtube.com/user/shirleybeniang
    Estée Lalonde – YouTube
    https://www.youtube.com/user/essiebutton
    I have tried garnier products because of these ladies. I got the feels the moment you did your review on their mask. Love!!! I haven’t tried those yet. Taylor Made | Beauty Blog by Le’Chelle Taylor
    taylormde.com/
    Wrote a blog about skin care is more important than your make up collection or investments. When your skin looks great you don’t need all the contour etc, That really inspired me to make my skin care more of a priority. #Goals #2017 I felt really insecure because I am not generally a make up person but I have been cringing on purchasing concealer to cover up my blemishes. This convo is super helpful thank you for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

