MOVIE REVIEW | Logan (2017)

“Don’t be what they’ve made you” ~ Logan (Logan 2017)

_____________________________________

Firstly, welcome to Lyd on Life

I’m a huge X-man fan. I think I’ve seen most if not all the X-men movies so it was only right for me to review one of their recent releases.

Logan. In the year 2029, a weary Logan cares for an ailing Professor X somewhere on the Mexican border. However, Logan’s attempts to hide from the world are upended when a young mutant arrives.

Let’s get into the review.

Did I like the movie?

Of course I did! I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure if I would after seeing the trailer. I assumed it would be your typically father meets daughter whose just as angry and powerful as he is but surprisingly it wasn’t. The movie had enough action, emotion, drama and a strong story line to keep me entertained and talking about what the next X-men movie could be.

It most certainly wasn’t your typical superhero movie. It was more realistic than the others and made the X-men appear more like humans with special gifts rather than mutants with cool powers. Hugh Jackman does a wonderful job at playing a drunk and stubborn disappointment to the X-men legacy. You almost get angry with him at some point. You can feel he has given up on what the X-men stood for. It makes you wonder what happened for him to become so hopeless to the point of wanting to kill himself. Why it took so much convincing to finally get him to become the Wolverine we all love (even if it was only for a little bit). Guess I’ll have to wait for the next one to find out (if there is a next one).

Would I watch again?

Damn right! I always watch the X-men movies when they come on TV and this one will not be missed. Though I know the storyline and the ending, the action in the movie alone is enough to make me watch it again.

Overall Rating

Overall I’d give the movie a 9/10 because it’s more than just a superhero movie. Logan has characters which you identify with and whom you care about. There’s enough emotion, humour and action to keep you going throughout the entire movie (not just towards the end). The build up to the ending was great and it leaves you excited for what’s to come next in the X-men franchise. If you didn’t know about the characters shown you’d certainly want to find out. Dafne Keen who plays ‘Laura’ does a great job for someone with few lines. I’m curious to see what else she has to offer. The ending was sad but I won’t spoil it for you.

Next movie on my list is Get Out. The moment I watched the trailer I was convinced it would be worth watching. Will it live up to the hype? We’ll see.

Your Turn…

Have you watched Logan? What did you think of it? On a scale from 1 to 10 (1 being the worse and 10 being the best), what would you give it?

Get in touch, tweet me @lydonlifeblog or share your experiences and tips with everybody in the comments.

Till next time.

Love,
Lydia x | https://lydonlife.wordpress.com

 

6 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW | Logan (2017)

    • lyd-on-life says:

      Oh no sorry to hear that. How far did you get in the movie before the blackout?
      Thank you so much for the nomination. My first nomination on wordpress! Yay! I’m excited to take part and thank you again for the support 🙂
      Lydia x | lydonlife.wordpress.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

