Hair Removal| How to Use Nair Down There…

“Things aren’t weird, they’re just different, and different isn’t bad,” ~ Lori Duron.

lydonlife-blog-nair-hair-removal-cream

___________________________________________________________

Welcome to Lyd on Life

When it comes to hair removal I say do whatever you feel like doing that day. I did.

I got my first bikini wax last year. I was going on holiday which would require the occasional bikini on show so I thought why not. It can’t be that bad, right?

And I was right, it wasn’t that bad but it was still bad. Was it worth it? Yes. Would I do it again? Yes. Would I do it regularly? No.

The problem with waxing for me is that the frequency I need it done in, isn’t worth the price. Not only is it expensive but finding an appointment when you need it can be hard to come by. Now I know websites such as wowcher and groupon have deals for waxing but I’m not a fan of placing the fate of my vagina in someone else’s hands without a recommendation from a friend. A true friend. Unfortunately all my friends think like me.

My bikini area isn’t on show enough for me to justify spending £30-£40 every month on grooming it to perfection.

There’s always shaving, right?

Yes, but the bumps, cuts, itching and awkward hand thigh positioning are just not worth it. I tried it and I don’t think it’s for me.

So, my go-to solution when I’m too cheap to get a wax but in need of some feminine grooming is to use hair removal creams. Yes, I said it. I use the white stuff and I’m not ashamed of it.

lydonlife-blog-nair-removal-cream

Firstly, a quick word on how the cream works:

Chemical depilatory creams aka hair removal creams break down the chemical bonds between keratin proteins in the hair shaft. Though this leave the hair follicle intact (allowing the hair to regrow eventually),  it transforms the hair itself into a gelatine-like consistency. Your hair then becomes weak enough to be scraped off. Simples.

Now, before the anti-chemical police come for me I will say that it is dangerous to use such a product so close to a sensitive area like your vagina. However, with care, patience and a couple of tools I think you’ll be fine. I was.

So how did I do it?

Well, first you’ll need the following tools:

  • Scissors – to cut the hair
  • Scrubbing gloves – to exfoliate
  • Vaseline – to protect from burning
  • Grey underwear – to protect from the buring and see the hair better
  • Tissue (optional) – to protect from buring
  • Hand held mirror – to see what you’re doing
  • Hair removal spatula – to apply the cream and scrap off the hair
  • Hair removal cream (Nair) – to remove the hair
  • Stopwatch – to time yourself
  • Flannel – to wipe the excess
  • Oil (argon oil, vitamin e oil, olive oil etc) – to moisturise

lydonlife-blog-vagina-hair

Once you have those tools ready, follow the following steps:

  1. Have a warm to hot shower to open-up your pores and trim the hair using the scissors if it’s too long.
  2. Use the scrubbing gloves to scrub the pubic area (front and back). Don’t be too rough or too soft.
  3. Once scrubbed, come out of the shower and pat your pubic area dry.
  4. Go somewhere where you have good lighting and apply Vaseline on the areas you do not want the cream to touch i.e. your labia minor and anus area.
  5. Put on your grey underwear ensuring the front of your underwear is between your labia minor and the back is between your butt cheeks – a front and back thong so to speak. For extra protection of your labia minor and anus you can place some tissue in that area then use your grey underwear to hold the tissue in place.
  6. While standing up and ensuring your underwear is securely between your labia minor all the way to your anus, apply the hair removal cream to the areas that are not covered by your underwear at the front first. Use one hand to hold your underwear taut if you must and the other to apply the cream using the hair removal spatula. Start with parts furthest to the labia major then work inwards (avoiding the labia minor).
  7. Using your stopwatch, wait 5 minutes and test a small area (your bikini line for example) using the hair removal spatula. If the hair doesn’t come off and you aren’t feeling any tingling, wait 5 more minutes. I waited for 12 minutes total but that may be too much for some. Avoid moving whilst the cream is doing its work.
  8. When ready, go to the sink and use the hair removal spatula to scrap the hair off your skin. No need to be rough as the hair should slide off with ease.
  9. Once everything is scrapped off, run your flannel under some warm water and wipe any excess cream. Ensure all the cream has been wiped off before moving to your butt cheeks area.
  10. Using your handheld mirror and ensuring your grey underwear is between your butt cheeks, bend over and apply the hair removal cream on either side of your butt cheeks where you’d like to remove the hair.
  11. Follow steps 6 to 9 then step into the shower to wash your pubic area (front and back) using warm water and your flannel only.
  12. Once you are sure all the cream and hair is off, pat the area dry and apply any oil of your choice. Something natural and conditioning that won’t irritate the skin.

And that’s it.

I never said it would be easy, just cheaper.

The process took a total of 40 minutes from start to finish for me (including my armpits) but might take longer if it’s your first time. After 3 days, the hair started to grow back but I didn’t need to repeat the process till day 5 (I could wait till day 7 if I wanted to).

This is just one way that I choose to use hair removal cream. It has potential to be dangerous if not used safely. However,  if the steps are followed and done carefully you shouldn’t have any problems. Do your research and only try out this method if you are 100% confident you can do it. No pussies allowed. Joke.

This method will do for now till I find another solution or go on another holiday. Whichever comes first.

Your turn…

Which method of hair removal do you prefer, shaving, waxing or creams? What is your experience with those methods? Did you find this post helpful? Would you it? Can you recommend any other technique?

Get in touch, tweet me @lydonlifeblog or share your questions, experiences and tips with everybody in the comments.

Till next time.

Love,
Lydia x | https://lydonlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

