5 Ways to Turn Your Bedroom into an Oasis

“Peace is the result of retraining your mind to process life as it is, rather than as you think it should be.” ~ Wayne W. Dyer

lydonlife-blog-bedroom-fung-shui.png

___________________________________________________________

Welcome to Lyd on Life

Feng shui is a Chinese philosophical system of harmonizing yourself with the surrounding environment. Now I’m no feng shui export (not even close) nor do I know a lot about this philosophical system. However, I strongly believe that harmonizing yourself with your surrounding is very important.

Sometimes it starts with something as simple as re-arranging your bedroom. Your bedroom is your own little haven where you find rest, peace and relaxation. Where you prepares to take on the world every day. Re-arranging the place you spend your most vulnerable time can help you find harmony and clarity in the parts of your life.

At 25 years old, I thought I would have my own place by now to fung shui the hell out of. But no, I’m not even close. I’m still living at home in the same bedroom I’ve been in since I was 5 years old. Same blue and white coloured walls, same old stained carpet and the same curtains my mum made when we moved here. Trying to save as much as I can to reach my goal of owning my own place leaves very little time and money to re-decorate. Right now, I can only afford to re-arrange. And that’s ok.

I don’t plan on being in this bedroom for too long but for the time being, I plan to make an Oasis out of it. If you’re like me, here are my 5 tips on turning your bedroom into a beautiful and relaxing sanctuary when you have limited options.

De-clutter

lydonlife-blog-bedroom-declutter.png

Whether it’s unwanted clothes, shoes, bags, body products or storage units; get rid of everything that has no real reason for being there. Haven’t used it for the last 3 months? Get rid of it. Is your storage just a space to keep things you don’t use? Get rid of it. Do you need that coat stand? Throw it away. Ensure that everything in your room has a justified and effective purpose for being there. De-cluttering is the most therapeutic process you can go through I feel. If done with the intention of harmonising yourself with the things around you, you’ll be surprised at how much space you’ll create for important things.

Create space

lydonlife-blog-bedroom-space

Struggling to get from bed to door without hitting something? Or do you find yourself knocking things over as you move around the room? Yes it could just be the size or design of your room. Or maybe you have too many things in the way. That laundry basket, does it need to be in your room? Could you put it somewhere outside your room? Those products on your desk? Could you use a rotating storage stand instead of having them all over your desk? Perhaps some wall shelves are needed to hold that stereo or TV instead of floor units? Can you fit your shoes in your wardrobe instead of a shoe rack? If something in your room could go somewhere else to create more space, move it. I believe the more space you have the clearer you can think. You allow your room to breathe and in turn allow yourself to breath.

Open storage system

lydonlife-blog-bedroom-storage

I don’t know about you but there’s something about having an open storage system that I like. The constant reminder of the clothes you have and the state of your clothes helps me avoid clutter. I can’t stuff my clutter behind my wardrobe doors if I don’t have any. Everything must be hung and folded neatly. Plus, your personal style can act like an artistic and decorative piece to your room. Now, I’m not saying go out and buy a whole new open storage system. You could simply remove the doors off your wardrobe or only remove one. I did. My wardrobe doors had mirrors so I used one of the doors as a stand-alone full length mirror in the corner of my room and the other as a mirror for the hall way. Open storage could also mean adding shelves to empty walls or buying a door hanger for your coats instead of stuffing them in your wardrobe.

Candles

lydonlife-blog-bedroom-candle

Scented candles are amazing. I wasn’t always a fan of candles as I just associated them with fire hazards. And they are, if used incorrectly. When used in the bedroom, it can really set the mood. Whether you are relaxing on your own or with someone special, a scented candle can create the right atmosphere to feel relaxed and in tuned with your surroundings. Ever wondered why they light candles during an aromatherapy massage or treatment? High quality essential oils can have a positive impact on our bodies and provide us with a sense of relaxation before you go to sleep. Our sense of smell is also connected to memory. Having a scent that reminds you of a happy or peaceful time can boost your mood. If you like the smell of bread in the morning, buy a bread scented candle (if that exists).

Bed positioning

lydonlife-blog-bedroom-fung-shui

The fung shui experts say bed positioning is important for healthy chi in the bedroom. I don’t know much about chi but I do believe that the positioning of your bed can help improve your mood, especially in the morning. What is your favourite part of your room? Is it your window? Is it your wardrobe? Is it something on your wall? Why not face your bed in the direction of something you’d like to see every time you wake up? For me it’s my window. My neighbours have a lovely tree in their back garden with pink flowers all over it. I sleep with my curtain open as I like the feel of the sun in the morning and waking up to see the pink flowers without leaving my bed is a bonus. Sounds cheesy but it makes my getting up in the morning in this bedroom just that little bit tolerable nicer. Of course, this will depend on how your room is structured but find something you would like to see the moment you open your eyes in the morning.

And that’s it.

Re-arranging the things around you can help you think clearer, see clearer and feel different about certain situations you might be in. These few tips have helped me find peace in the space I’m in as I prepare to get to the space I so long to be in. It will come one day and when it does I’ll be ready for it.

Final thoughts…

Bring your reality as close to your dream as possible so your dream doesn’t just seem like a dream anymore. There’s a lot I’d like to do to my surroundings but for now, these tips and my Pinterest board will have to do.

Your Turn…

Did you like this post? What did you find helpful? Do you have any tips of your own?

Get in touch, tweet me @lydonlifeblog or share your questions, experiences and tips with everybody in the comments.

Till next time.

Love,
Lydia x | https://lydonlife.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “5 Ways to Turn Your Bedroom into an Oasis

  1. bornfreewitht says:

    Yassss !!! I love that you shared your reality of being 25 and in your old bedroom. I always need a girl who keeps things real. Your honesty reminds me how we as peers are not in a competition but have similar aspirations . scented candles are everything and to de clutter is one of the best places to start.

    Like

Leave a Reply

